

PLAYWRIGHTS CANADA PRESS

2007 12 01

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE

Angela Rebeiro, Publisher Retires December 31, 2007 Having spent 48 years working with Canadian writers and publishers

> Annie Gibson, Associate Publisher Steps into the role of publisher On January 1, 2008

After 17 years as its publisher, Rebeiro is confident that she leaves the Press in extraordinarily good hands. Ms. Gibson has been with the Press for just under three years, and has mastered every operation from distribution of titles, through to publishing decisions, working with the authors to bring their work to publication, and managing the Press's financial affairs. Most importantly, Gibson is committed to the writers, their work and the Press, and has a very good working relationship with the international publishers who represent our list in the United States and in England. Gibson is also the unanimous appointment of the board of directors, which includes playwrights Colleen Murphy (Toronto), Mieko Ouchi, (Edmonton), Emil Sher (Toronto), Anne Chislett (St. John's), Tom Hendry (Toronto) and academics Ric Knowles, University of Guelph and Glen Nichols, Université de Moncton.

Playwrights Canada Press was founded as an imprint of the Playwrights Union of Canada in 1984. Rebeiro joined the Press in 1991, and in 2000 the Press was separately incorporated from what is now the Playwrights Guild of Canada. The Guild is the sole shareholder of the Press. During those years, the list increased from five titles a year to its current 32 titles a year. Very early on in the '90s, the Press identified its niche market as being with the academic community, and from there it has grown from sales of \$40,000 a year to just under a quarter of a million dollars, publishing plays and the occasional theatre history or work of criticism. The majority of its sales are from schools, post-secondary course adoptions, and a few trade bookstores, which have contributed significantly to the growth of the Press, its authors and their work.

Rebeiro leaves the Press on a high note with five Governor General's Literary Award nominations in 2007, Colleen Murphy being the winner for her play *The December Man (L'homme de décembre)*. The Press also published the GG winners in 2005 and 2006, playwrights John Mighton (*Half Life*) and Daniel MacIvor (*I Still Love You*) respectively.

Gibson and Rebeiro agree that the 2008 list, now signed and sealed, is equally strong, as it has been in previous years, and Gibson notes that "I'm looking forward to working with those writers, many of them being published for the first time, and to adding them to an already successful list of playwrights, with anywhere from 10 to 14 titles a year being reprinted for the third or fourth time." Gibson adds "that as winner Colleen Murphy noted in her GG acceptance speech in Montreal a week ago, this is an exciting time for Canadian dramatists as they look around the world and at home at the tensions among and between nations, and the conflicts that confront our everyday life. Playwrights Canada Press looks forward to being at the centre of publishing the exciting work we know to be out there."

- 30 -

Contacts: Colleen Murphy, President 647-342-4942 Angela Rebeiro 416-703-0013 Annie Gibson 416-703-0013